Intro (2/2): This is Do or Die

Blog 2 imageHey friends!  Welcome back!

This is my back-story, continued…  (Refer to part 1 here)


So when it came to the big decision, not really knowing quite what I should do as a career, I enrolled at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in the field of Accounting.  A good, safe option!

I still kept my passion for music, but by nature or design I had a really difficult time finishing any of my own projects.

Some classic examples?  Well, of all the bands I was in, only one ever had a name.  Also none of my bands ever played live.  We’re talking 5 or 6 bands here!

We would jam on the spot, come up with something cool, and spend the next 4-5 months playing the saaame 3 songs ooover and ooover.  I even bought some audio recording equipment to start laying some of these tracks down.  Well, they either never got finished or were never completed to a good enough state where I was happy enough to play it for others.

Ok, woah, hang on!  We did have fun.  But still my motivation plummeted when I realised I had nothing to show for it!

I completed my studies, went off to work and got involved in work life.  If anyone has been in the audit industry you would know that it requires loooooooooong hours (that’s like slang for reaaally long).  I absolutely loved the experience though and made some truly awesome friends in the process.

But I still considered myself somehow different to others – a feeling of belonging but not truly being at home.  The music had taken a massive backseat but the dream was still there.  Ever kicking. Patiently waiting.


In 2013 I was given the opportunity to work abroad on an awesome little island called Guernsey, located in the Channel Islands, the exact location where I’m blogging from right now.  At first work life continued as usual.  And then, in July 2013, almost 8 years after starting my accounting adventure, I received an email from a great online music careers coach and bang!  I was stirred to action!

I’d been avoiding his emails for years… but not this time.  This was do or die.  Now or never.  I joined the course and began taking responsibility for my music career success.

12 years ago, when a young boy picked up that guitar and played his first chord he had a dream.  That dream has finally arrived, and I couldn’t be happier!  🙂

(please check out my first release below, and let me know how you like it!)

 


Sean David is an up and coming singer/songwriter from Port Elizabeth, South Africa.  He now lives in Guernsey, UK and has been working on some videos and other cool stuff for you to check out

One thought on “Intro (2/2): This is Do or Die

Leave a Reply

